

No. RT-11031/01/2017-MVL भारत सरकार Government of India सडक परिवहन और राजमार्ग मंत्रालय Ministry of Road Transport and Highways Transport Bhawan, 1 Parliament Street, New Delhi-110001. Dated, the O January, 2019.

To

- The Principal Secretaries/The Secretaries, Department of Transport. i.
- The Transport Commissioners of all the States/UT Administrations. ii.

Compliance of the judgment dated 20th July, 2018 of Hon'ble Supreme Court of Sub: India in WP(C) No.295/2012 - S. Rajaseekaran V/s Union of India and Ors. - reg.

Madam/Sir,

I am directed to refer to Hon'ble Supreme Court of India order dated 20th July, 2018 in WP(C) No.295/2012 - S. Rajaseekaran V/s Union of India and Ors. regarding third party Insurance and Ministry's advisory letters dated 29.08.2018 & 12.11.2018 on the above mentioned subject.

It has come to light that some State Transport Department are mandating three years 2. third party insurance for other transport vehicles i.e. trucks, buses, construction equipment vehicles etc.

The Hon'ble Supreme Court in its order dated 20.07.2018 has directed that "the third 3. party insurance cover for new cars should mandatorily be for a period of three years and for two wheelers, it should mandatorily be for a period of five years". Ministry's letter dated 12.11.2018 had further clarified that the third party insurance covers both transport and nontransport vehicles.

It is therefore, requested that State Transport Department may kindly take note of the 4. Hon'ble Supreme Court order dated 20th July, 2018 in WP(C) No. 295/2012 S. Rajaseekaran V/s Union of India and Ors. that it includes only new cars and two wheelers of both transport and non-transport vehicles. However, Trucks, buses, construction equipments etc and other transport vehicles are not included in it.

Yours faithfully.

(Ramandeep Chowdhary) Deputy Secretary to the Govt. of India Tele: 23717294 Email: ds1-morth@gov.in

Copy to:

- 1. Secretary, General Insurance Council.
- 2. DDG, National Informatics Centre, Delhi.
- 3. DG, SIAM.
- 4. Secretary, FADA.